Canada Student Loans

The National Student Loans Service Centre (NSLSC) has taken proactive steps to help student loan borrowers during COVID-19, and in many cases, you don’t have to do anything to benefit from the modifications. The main changes are:

  • Student loans repayments are paused until September 30, 2020.
  • Interest will not be charged on student loans from March 30, 2020, to September 30, 2020.

Visit the NSLSC website for the most current information.

Students with provincial loans issued from B.C., Ontario, New Brunswick, Newfoundland, or Saskatchewan will continue to have their loans administered by the NSLSC, while students with provincial loans from Alberta, Manitoba, Nova Scotia, or Prince Edward Island should check with their provincial student loan centre for additional information.

For students in British Columbia, StudentAidBC has a resource to provide information about student loans. The site features FAQ to answer common questions you may have about your student loan.

Check the National Support for Students page for contact information by province.

Stay safe, observe the best practices, and help Canada overcome this pandemic.